Wasatch County Car Accident Lawyer
If you were injured in a car accident that was not your fault, the other driver may be liable for your medical bills, losses of income, and other hardships you’ve suffered because of the crash. Unfortunately, insurance companies are motivated by profit and will do everything they can to avoid making fair claim payouts. With a reputation as a tough settlement negotiator, you can depend on attorney Darwin Overson to protect your rights and help you fight for fair compensation.
Utah Injury Attorneys Handling Car Accident Claims in Wasatch County
When you’ve been seriously injured, you need to focus on resting and recovering. Let our law firm help lighten your burden during this difficult time by handling all of the legal work on your behalf. Car crash attorney Darwin Overson has more than 33 years of experience negotiating with insurance companies, and is fully prepared to take your case to court if the need arises. While each claim is unique, Darwin’s goal never changes: fight hard to obtain the greatest compensation possible.
Darwin handles car accident claims throughout Wasatch County, including Heber City, Daniel, Midway, and the surrounding communities. He has experience handling claims involving a wide range of accident types, including:
- Rear-End Collisions
- Head-On Collisions
- Side-Impact Collisions
- Intersection Accidents
- Parking Lot Accidents
- Lane Change Accidents
- Crosswalk and Pedestrian Accidents
- Chain Reaction Accidents
- Multi-Vehicle Pileups
To set up a free, completely confidential legal consultation with Darwin, call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143. Darwin is available 24 hours a day, including nights and weekends, to help you understand — and exercise — your legal rights as an injury victim.
How Much Compensation Can You Get if You’re Hurt in a Crash?
There is no way to definitively answer this question without first performing a review of your car accident claim. Every situation is different, and there are numerous variables that need to be evaluated by an experienced car accident injury lawyer whenever a person has been hurt in a crash or collision. With that in mind, there are some basic facts that apply to all cases.
The first fact is that Utah is a no-fault insurance state. This means injury victims are first compensated through their own insurer, which is called a “first-party” claim. Your insurer must provide at least $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits for reasonable medical expenses, such as ambulance rides or hospitalization.
Only when your expenses exceed $3,000 can you file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company (called a “third-party” claim), or, alternatively, file a lawsuit against the driver responsible for the accident. There is, however, one exception to this rule: even if your costs do not surpass $3,000, you may sue or make a claim if you suffered permanent disability, disfigurement, or impairment, or if you lost a limb or body part.
The second fact is that, in order to receive compensation, you must be able to prove the following facts:
- The other driver was negligent, which means he or she did not exercise adequate care while driving to prevent an avoidable crash. This could involve speeding excessively, ignoring right-of-way, making improper turns, following too closely, driving while intoxicated, or other safety problems.
- The other driver’s actions — or in some situations, lack thereof — were the cause of the accident.
- You were harmed as a result of the accident.
There are two ways a crash victim can receive compensation: through a settlement with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, which involves out-of-court negotiations, or through a verdict awarded as a result of a lawsuit, which involves going to court and presenting evidence. Accident victims generally try to arrive at a settlement before suing the other driver, though litigation may become necessary if negotiations do not resolve the dispute.
Compensation can range from thousands to millions depending on factors like the severity of the injuries, the nature of the accident, the victim’s income, and the extent to which the injury victim was previously providing financial support for a family. Compensation can involve economic or special damages (e.g. medical bills, lost income), noneconomic or general damages (e.g. pain and suffering), and pecuniary damages, which are sometimes awarded to punish the defendant for egregious wrongdoing. Utah does not cap or limit damages.
Common Types of Injuries Caused by Auto Accidents
According to the Department of Public Safety’s statistics, roughly 40% of Utah car accidents in 2014 resulted in injuries: 23,364 injury victims from 54,036 total crashes. Even with protection from safety features like seat belts and airbags, the human body is simply not meant to withstand the tremendous forces exerted by collisions, especially in high-speed accidents.
It is very common from drivers and passengers to sustain major, disabling injuries, particularly in certain seating positions or certain types of crashes. For example, most whiplash injuries result from rear-end collisions as the neck muscles and ligaments violently snap back and forth from the impact. Vehicular accidents can also cause injuries such as:
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
- Burn Injuries
- Back Injuries
- Hand and Wrist Injuries
- Cuts and Lacerations
- Bruises and Contusions
- Strains and Sprains
- Scarring and Disfigurement
- Back Injuries
- Bulging Disc
- Herniated Disc
- Vertebral Fractures
- Spinal Cord Injury (SCI)
- Facial Injuries
- Broken Jaw
- Chipped Tooth
- Fractured Cheekbone
- Fractured Eye Socket
- Eye Injuries
- Broken Bones
- Fractured Ankles
- Fractured Arms (Ulna, Radius, Humerus)
- Fractured Collarbones (Clavicles)
- Fractured Legs (Femur, Fibula, Tibia)
- Fractured Ribs
- Fractured Wrists
- Pelvic Fracture
If you, your spouse, your child, or your parent suffered from these or other serious injuries due to a car accident that was caused by another driver, you may have a right to be compensated. Before you accept a settlement offer, call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143 for a free legal consultation with Heber City car accident lawyer Darwin Overson. Darwin proudly provides around-the-clock legal support for residents of Wasatch County, including evenings and weekends.