Utah County Car Accident Lawyer
Car accidents can cause debilitating injuries like broken bones, lacerations, whiplash, and severe burns. Not only are these injuries immensely painful and physically limiting, they can also generate overwhelming medical expenses for the victim.
If you or one of your loved ones was injured in a car crash in Utah County, you should speak to an experienced personal injury lawyer about your options for getting compensated. Depending on how and why the collision happened, the other driver may be liable for your expenses.
Schedule a Free Consultation with a Utah Car Accident Attorney
The truth is, insurers are more interested in protecting their profits than in making fair settlement offers to accident victims who are seeking injury compensation. Time and time again, insurance companies use bad faith tactics to undervalue or deny legitimate car accident claims.
With more than 33 years of experience representing injury victims, you can count on accident attorney Darwin Overson to protect your rights and negotiate aggressively on your behalf. If necessary, Darwin is ready to take your case to court. He will do everything in his power to obtain fair compensation for your pain and suffering, your medical bills, and other losses you’ve suffered due to your accident.
To set up a free legal consultation with Darwin, call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143. Darwin is here 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to answer your questions and help you understand your legal options.
When Can You Get Compensated for an Auto Accident in Utah?
Utah is a no-fault insurance state. What does this mean for accident victims? When a crash or collision occurs, the victim’s own insurer is responsible for covering $3,000 of reasonable medical costs in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. This applies regardless of which driver caused the crash, which is where the term “no-fault” comes from.
If the victim’s injuries result in costs which exceed the $3,000 threshold — which, unfortunately, is common — he or she can potentially file a lawsuit or make a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. This is called a “third-party” claim, as opposed to a “first-party” claim, which is a claim a person files with their own insurance company. Even if the accident expenses are less than $3,000, the victim may also sue or make a third-party claim if their injuries caused:
- Loss of limb (dismemberment)
- Permanent disability
- Permanent impairment of function
- Permanent disfigurement
In order to receive compensation, it will be necessary to prove the other driver’s negligent or reckless actions were responsible for the crash and resulting injuries and property damage. Forms of evidence may include photographs, video footage, expert lab analysis of wreckage, eyewitness testimony, medical records, and other sources of information about the accident. Some common driver errors that cause preventable crashes include:
- Driving the wrong way on a one-way street
- Driving while fatigued and falling asleep at the wheel
- Driving while intoxicated
- Making illegal U-turns or other driving maneuvers
- Not stopping at red lights, stop signs, or pedestrian crosswalks
- Speeding excessively
- Tailgating (following too closely)
- Texting while driving and other forms of distracted driving
Common Serious Injuries Caused by Crashes and Collisions
With more than 550,000 residents, Utah County is the second most heavily populated county in the state. That also means it has a higher concentration of vehicles, which increases the odds of collisions occurring. In 2013, Utah County had more fatal accidents than any other county in Utah, except for Salt Lake. While crashes can take place anywhere in the county, factors like commuter traffic and aggressive driving make accidents especially likely on major roads and highways, such as I-15, US-6, US-89, US-189, and SR-68.
Accidents can result in disfiguring, disabling injuries, even if the collision takes place at relatively low speeds. Despite improvements to automotive safety features like airbags and seat belts, hundreds of people die and tens of thousands of people are hurt in Utah car accidents every year. In 2014 alone, 54,036 Utah accidents injured more than 23,360 people, which means the odds of an accident resulting in injury are about four in 10. Serious injuries that can result from car accidents include:
- Back Injuries
- Blunt Force Trauma
- Bone Fractures
- Bowel Perforation
- Bulging Discs
- Chest Injuries
- Collapsed Lungs
- Dental Injuries
- Facial Injuries
- Foot and Ankle Injuries
- Hand and Wrist Injuries
- Herniated Discs
- Hip and Shoulder Injuries
- Internal Bleeding
- Scarring and Disfigurement
- Second and Third Degree Burns
- Soft Tissue Injuries
- Spinal Cord Injury (SCI)
- Sprains (Torn Ligaments)
- Strains (Torn Muscles)
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
- Whiplash Neck Injuries
If you or your spouse, child, or parent suffered from these or other severe injuries after a careless driver caused an accident, you may have a right to compensation. To learn more about the legal options that may be available to your family, call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143 for a free and confidential consultation. Darwin Overson handles car accident claims in Provo, Orem, Draper, Lehi, Alpine, Highland, Spanish Fork, Saratoga Springs, Bluffdale, Cedar Hills, Eagle Mountain, Salem, and throughout Utah County.