How Much Compensation Can You Get from a Car Accident Settlement in Utah?
Legal Disclaimer: The following values are based on prior cases and should not be interpreted to imply or guarantee that your personal injury claim or lawsuit will have a similar resolution. The circumstances of every accident and the resulting injuries are very different, and only after reviewing your matter in a detailed legal consultation can an attorney give legal guidance. Moreover, a jury will determine the final value of your case.
This guide covers some basic information about getting compensated for a car accident injury in Utah, including:
- How much compensation is available for crash victims.
- The types of losses and expenses for which compensation is available.
- How personal injury claims are affected by Utah’s no-fault auto insurance system.
- Real life examples of verdicts and settlements resulting from car crash injuries.
While the information provided here is a useful starting point, you will need personalized legal guidance if you or one of your loved ones was injured in a crash or collision, and should consult with an experienced Utah car accident attorney as soon as possible. To set up a free legal consultation, call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143 today. We have over 33 years of experience fighting for injury victims across the state.
How Much Money Can You Get for a Car Accident Claim?
Auto accidents often result in huge medical bills. In addition, the victim’s injuries may prevent them from going to work for a period of weeks, months, or even years. If the injuries are disabling, the victim may never be able to work again.
Between medical bills, loss of income, and lost future earning capacity, the financial impact of a crash can be absolutely devastating, not only for the victim him or herself, but also for family members, especially if there are children or other dependents who require financial support. However, if your accident was caused by the other driver, it may be possible to get compensated.
Utah belongs to a minority of states which follow the no-fault car insurance system. Under this system, it does not matter which driver which caused the crash — generally, victims initially turn to their own insurers by making a first-party claim. However, it is possible to make a third-party claim with the other driver’s insurance company if the accident resulted in:
- Medical bills exceeding $3,000.
- Specific types of injuries (regardless of medical cost), which include:
- Permanent Disfigurement
- Permanent Disability
- Permanent Impairments
Utah requires drivers to carry, at minimum, the following types and amounts of auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury — $25,000
- Bodily Injury, Multiple Victims — $65,000
- Property Damage — $15,000
While most car accident claims are resolved through an out-of-court settlement, which is a mutual, negotiated agreement between the victim and the at-fault driver’s insurance company, there are some cases where filing a lawsuit may be necessary. Unlike many other states, Utah does not cap compensation, called “damages,” for personal injury and wrongful death. The amount you can recover by making a claim or filing a lawsuit depends on factors like:
- The severity of your injuries.
- The permanence of your injuries.
- The extent to which your earning capacity is affected.
- Whether you support dependents.
Auto Accident Verdicts and Settlements
The following are real examples of settlements and jury-awarded verdicts resulting from car accident injuries. However, the amount that may be recoverable for your injury will depend on variables and details unique to your situation, which is one of the reasons legal representation by a knowledgeable Utah car crash lawyer is so critical.
- $120,000 for a crash resulting in a back injury.
- $150,000 for a rear-end collision caused by texting while driving.
- $250,000 for a rear-end collision resulting in back injuries.
- $295,000 for an accident that aggravated pre-existing injuries.
- $325,000 for a victim who needed back surgery.
- $485,000 for a crash caused by running a red light.
- $1.5 million for a rental car accident.
- $7.5 million for a brain injury resulting from a car crash.
Hurt in a Crash? Get Legal Help from an Experienced Personal Injury Lawyer in Utah
Personal injury attorney Darwin Overson has more than 33 years of experience handling car accident claims and lawsuits on behalf of injury victims in locations throughout Utah, including but not limited to Salt Lake City, Summit County, Wasatch County, Utah County, Weber County, Davis County, Box Elder County, Tooele County, and more. Claims Darwin handles include:
- Types of Crashes
- Accidents Caused by Defective Products
- Accidents Caused by Distracted Driving
- Chain Reaction Accidents
- Drunk Driving Accidents
- Head-On Collisions
- Intersection Accidents
- Parking Lot Collisions
- Rear-End Collisions
- Rollover Accidents
- T-Bone Accidents (Side-Impact Collisions)
- Types of Injuries
- Back Injuries
- Broken Bones
- Bruising and Contusions
- Bulging and Herniated Discs
- Burn Injuries
- Crush Injuries
- Cuts and Lacerations
- Facial Injuries
- Hand Injuries
- Head Injuries
- Joint Dislocation
- Nerve Damage
- Organ Damage
- Scarring and Disfigurement
- Soft Tissue Injuries
- Spinal Cord Injuries (SCI)
- Sprains and Strains
- Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBI)
Call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143 for your free legal consultation. Darwin can help you understand whether you could have car accident claim, your rights as an injury victim, and your family’s possible options for seeking compensation.