Cache County Car Accident Lawyer
Utah auto accident attorney Darwin Overson has over 33 years of experience handling car accident claims in Logan, Hyde Park, Hyrum, Mendon, Avon, Providence, Nibley, Millville, Wellsville, Smithfield, Richmond, River Heights, Paradise, Trenton, Clarkston, and other locations in and around Cache County. If you or one of your family members was injured in a car crash in Cache County or the surrounding area, Darwin may be able to help you recover compensation for your medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost earnings.
Call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143 for a free legal consultation with Darwin regarding your car accident claim. Darwin is here to help answer your questions, explain your legal rights, and pursue the maximum compensation on your behalf.
Logan Car Crash Lawyers Handling Accident Claims in Cache County, Utah
Rear-end collisions, side-impact collisions, head-on collisions, and other types of car accidents can occur anywhere in Cache County, but are especially common at busy intersections and on congested highways. Some major crash sites in the Cache County area include:
Regardless of where they occur, auto accidents can result in catastrophic, disabling injuries. Darwin has experience handling many of the most common car accident injuries and complications, such as:
- Back Injuries
- Bulging Discs
- Herniated Discs
- Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) and Paralysis
- Vertebral Fractures (Broken Spine)
- Broken Bones
- Broken Arm (Fractured Ulna, Radius, Humerus)
- Broken Collarbone (Fractured Clavicle)
- Broken Leg (Fractured Tibia, Fibula, Femur)
- Broken Neck (Cervical Fracture)
- Broken Ribs
- Head Injuries
- Diffuse Axonal Injuries (DAI)
- Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBI)
- Facial Injuries
- Broken Jaw (Mandibular Fracture)
- Broken Nose (Nasal Fracture)
- Eye Injuries
- Scarring and Disfigurement
According to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Cache County was one of Utah’s top three counties for highest crash rates in 2014. That year, Cache County reported:
- 1,321 property damage only (PDO) crashes.
- 475 injury crashes, resulting in 681 injuries.
- 12 fatal crashes, resulting in 12 deaths.
Sadly, most of these crashes could have been prevented had human errors been avoided. Common causes of preventable accidents include:
- Driving through red lights.
- Failing to brake at stop signs or crosswalks.
- Following other vehicles too closely (tailgating).
- Making improper turns.
When Can You Get Compensated for Auto Accident Injuries?
Because Utah is a no-fault auto insurance state, accident victims’ first step is generally to make a first-party insurance claim with their own insurers. State law requires Utah drivers to carry at least $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits, which must be exhausted before making a third-party claim with the other motorist’s insurance company. The exception to this rule is if you suffered permanent impairments, permanent scars, permanent disability, or dismemberment (loss of limb), in which case your medical expenses need not exceed $3,000 prior to making a third-party claim or filing a lawsuit.
Providing evidence of your injury is a vital, but not the only, requirement for obtaining compensation. You must also be able to prove that the crash should have been preventable, and occurred because of the other driver’s negligent or reckless actions. Negligence is failure to take the actions necessary to avoid a foreseeable crash, while recklessness is disregard for major, unjustified safety hazards. As your experienced car accident lawyer in Cache County, Darwin Overson will consult with doctors, compile medical records, interview eyewitnesses, and use other tactics in the effort to prove that the other driver was negligent.
Compensation is recoverable for a range of financial and non-financial losses and hardships, including:
- Pain and Suffering
- Income Losses
- Medical Bills
- Ambulance Rides
- Medical Devices (Braces, Casts, Crutches, Wheelchairs)
- Physical Therapy
- Stitches and Sutures
Utah does not impose any limits (“damages caps”) upon the compensation an accident victim can recover for medical bills and other financial losses. However, the amount of compensation you can recover ultimately depends on factors like your medical expenses, the nature and severity of the injury, and your anticipated income losses.
Schedule a Free Legal Consultation with a Utah Personal Injury Attorney at Overson Law
If you were injured because of another driver’s careless actions, you shouldn’t be stuck paying for the financial consequences. You could have a right to get compensated for your losses. But you don’t have to go through the process alone. Focus on resting and recovering from your injuries, and count on Darwin Overson for tough, aggressive legal representation. Darwin has obtained favorable outcomes for numerous accident victims. Now, let him bring his decades of knowledge and experience to your claim.
To set up a free, completely confidential legal consultation with Cache County car crash attorney Darwin Overson, call the law offices of Overson Law, PLLC at (801) 895-3143. If you’re worried about legal fees, set your mind at ease: you won’t be charged anything unless we recover compensation for you. We don’t get paid unless you do.