6 Optional Types of Auto Insurance Coverage Utah Drivers Should Consider Purchasing

Utah requires drivers to carry certain levels of auto insurance coverage.  However, some drivers may wish to purchase additional, optional types of coverage to provide extra security in the event of a crash, collision, or other emergency.  If you or one of your loved ones was recently involved in an accident, you should talk to an experienced Utah car accident lawyer about getting compensated for your injuries and damage to your car.

How Much Car Insurance Does a Driver Need in Utah?

personal injury attorney utah

At bare minimum, Utah drivers must carry $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, which will help pay for injuries you sustain in an accident.  They must also purchase the following types and amounts of coverage, known as liability insurance:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury coverage, per person
  • $65,000 of bodily injury coverage, per accident
  • $15,000 of property damage coverage, per accident
    • As an alternative, you could choose to select $80,000 of total coverage for both bodily injury and property damage.

You might see these figures expressed as 25/65/15 in reference to the minimum coverage amounts.

The purpose of liability insurance is to help provide coverage for vehicle damage and personal injury resulting from an accident where you were found to be the driver at fault.  While Utah is a no-fault insurance state, injury victims may sue or make a third-party claim if their injury costs exceed $3,000 (Utah’s personal injury protection or PIP threshold), or if they sustain specific types of serious injury, including permanent disability, permanent disfigurement, permanent impairment of function, or dismemberment/loss of limb.  For more information on this topic, see our articles on getting compensated for a partial fault accident and how victims are compensated.

To learn more about liability insurance – and, perhaps even more critically, the penalties for driving without it – see our article on minimum auto insurance requirements in Utah.

6 Additional Forms of Damage, Injury, and Accident Coverage

personal injury attorney

As long as you meet the minimum requirements listed above, you satisfy Utah’s coverage standards and do not need to purchase any additional coverage if you do not wish to do so.  However, some drivers feel more comfortable having additional financial protection, especially individuals who spend most of their workday in the car.  Ultimately, it’s a matter of personal preference.  Some options to consider include:

  • Collision Coverage – Collision coverage will help pay for vehicle damage caused by a variety of events. Keep in mind that, while the state of Utah does not require collision coverage, some lending companies do.
  • Comprehensive Coverage – The purpose of comprehensive coverage is to help pay for vehicle repairs when damage is caused by incidents other than crashes and collisions, such as a tree branch falling onto your car, or your car being vandalized with spray-paint. Theft, fire, and natural disasters are generally part of comprehensive coverage.
  • Emergency Roadside Assistance Coverage – As the name suggests, emergency roadside assistance is there to help if you are ever stranded or broken down on the side of the road.  This type of coverage will go toward the costs of getting your vehicle towed.
  • GAP Insurance – Guaranteed Auto Protection coverage is often referred to as GAP coverage. GAP coverage helps pay the difference between a vehicle’s actual cash value (ACV) and the amount you still owe. You do not need GAP coverage if you don’t owe anything on your vehicle.
  • Rental Car Insurance – Needless to say, this type of insurance is unnecessary unless you are actually renting a car. Rental car insurance will help you pay for the cost of renting a vehicle while your car is being repaired due to an accident.
  • UM/UIM Coverage – UM stands for uninsured motorist, while UIM refers to underinsured motorists. An uninsured motorist has no coverage at all.  A motorist is underinsured when the injury expenses resulting from an accident exceed the limits of his or her policy.  UM/UIM coverage helps you pay for medical care resulting from injuries caused by uninsured or underinsured motorists.

Rely on The Experience of a Personal Injury Lawyer in Salt Lake City, Utah

If you, your spouse, or one of your family members was hurt in a car crash, you may be entitled to compensation depending on how and why the accident occurred.  Call the law offices of Overson Law at (801) 895-3143 to set up a free legal consultation with Utah intersection accident lawyer Darwin Overson.  Darwin has over 33 years of experience handling Utah truck accidents, passenger van accidents, and other types of crashes and collisions.

  • GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.